A Moment of Silence

11 Jan

I had an interesting day. It was my day off, everything went well. Nothing exploded. Nothing burst into flames. Dinner tasted good. I paid a bill. It was normal.

This evening I found out someone I went to high school had a loss in her family. Her mother suddenly had a stroke and passed on. The news has shocked me so greatly.

This woman had four beautiful and friendly kids. The youngest daughter and I were twins on twin day in sixth grade. Her oldest daughter is full of light and sunshine. Their mother was kind, loving, and completely the mother bear of her family. I will always remember how she protected her kids, cared about everyone that was in her home, and made delicious chicken soup. I think about her soup every time I try to make my own. There was so much love in there, I think that’s what made it so good.

My heart goes out to her family, because I can’t even imagine what they are going through and the journey they are about to go on.

Leave a Reply

