It’s like I just came back from Narnia, except I still aged.

13 Oct

I have been MIA as of the last two months almost. Being aware that my legion of two fans has hopelessly awaiting my newest post, my newest dump of knowledge onto this internet medium, I have prepared an apology letter. Here it goes;

I’m sorry. I was moving.

Sincerely, Caitlin

Yes yes, I know that does not cover it all, especially in a day and age in which the information highway known as the internet is accessible almost everywhere, at anytime, for any reason. I have a good reason though, I swear! I have put off getting internet at our new home until today. We have iPhones, and therefore were able to access our email and my substance abuse problem, also known as Facebook, and with a house barely put together, and two kids running around needing love and guidance every five minutes, the internet didn’t seem like that big of a deal. So, I hope my best friend Carrie, probably the only person who will read this with anticipation of discovering grammatical errors and the improper use of pronouns, can forgive me.

Now I must repent for my sins, and explain why I even have to repent from them in the first place. I have never moved before. I lived in the same house until I “moved in” with Harold. My clothes were always in the same place, my box of trinkets never moved from the desk, my cook books always in the bookcase with the glass door. Then I “moved in” with Harold during our courtship. By “moved in” I mean spent the nights at his house, went to my dad’s during the day to do my laundry, and pretty much lived out of my 84′ Toyota Camry. Then Harold gave me a drawer in his dresser, then a whole dresser, and finally I was given a key and told to stay there all the time. I didn’t pack boxes, label things, or put things away for storage. So, during the move I was at a loss. I had no clue what to do, or how to do it. Sure, I’d help people move before, but for some reason I’m either carrying boxes, or I’m on child watch duty. Our wonderful family and friends were able to help with the move, and we were able to get out fully in about two months. Yes, that is a long time just to move into a new home, but when you consider that Harold and I both work full-time, we have the kids, and we work completely opposite shifts half the time, it was a fine amount of time.

It’s done now, and I can settle into the new home. It’s our own little cottage on a great part of the island. We have a pond, we have great neighbors, and we have a plum-tree! We have baked cookies and cupcakes, stuffed squash, steaks, elk, and pasta in our new kitchen. We have run around the yard in the sun. We have waved at family and friends from the porch as they depart from a visit. It has already become a home to us, more than our previous rental did. Buying a house was the best choice for us, and we are so thankful for God placing the house before us.

Time to resume island life, and get organized. With Fall in full swing, there is a lot to do. Pumpkins to decorate with glitter, recipes to record, board games to play, and cuddles to give. Kirby is walking now so we have a whole new level of clean to achieve, Daphne is learning more everyday and wrote the word “bear” by herself yesterday, and the new home is ready to be filled with our memories and laughter. I don’t think I could have asked for a better life.

I will now be posting weekly if not more, and hope cultivate a great readership. I can’t wait to share what I know and things I learn about being a young mom, with old-fashioned values, in a world where everyone is moving 100 miles per hour.

Thanks for sticking with it!

Caitlin

4 Responses to “It’s like I just came back from Narnia, except I still aged.”

  1. iammarya October 13, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    what about Marya? Don’t I get a say on your grammatical errors, pronoun use and all-things cupcakes????
    (just kidding!)

    • toobusyforcupcakes October 13, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      I was hoping you’d be too enamored with other peoples grammatical errors to see mine! I should have known you’d catch them though, being the editor of the Klipson and all.

  2. Joan October 13, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    We love you and your Little family! It is with great joy that we read how happy you are and the progress of those adorable children. We will be looking forward to updates…

  3. the darling machine October 18, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    you must share more of the little one’s birthday photos!

Leave a Reply

